Happy 10th Birthday!

5 08 2014

10th Cam

Guess who is turning 10 today? Cameron… He’s 10! What a long road it’s been so far, full of long days but really short years. For his 10th birthday, it feels appropriate to list the top ten things I love about him (in no particular order).

1. I love what an amazing reader he is. He’s a faster reader than I am and reads things I would have thought to be super dull when I was his age. When I was 10 it was all Judy Blume and Beverly Cleary. He’s all Abe Lincoln, JFK, Civil War, and Temple Grandin with a side of Roald Dahl and Harry Potter. Also, his ability to recall the information found in the books is something rarely seen in real life.

2. Cameron is so smart (probably from all of his reading) that he constantly puts us to shame with his knowledge of weird, random facts. He’ll tell you how Lincoln’s dad died a minute after he schools you on which spell does what in the third installment of Harry Potter. Now if we could just get him to apply the facts to real life situations!

3. Cameron is compassionate about things and people he loves. He is a loyal (albeit bossy) friend and an incredibly loving son. He’s compassionate about history, science, Tom Petty, and the Packers. When he loves, he does so with all of his heart and he doesn’t hold back.

4. While at times, it can be overwhelming, I love that Cameron is a sensitive soul. When he was a newborn, I worked with a lactation consultant and physical therapist to work on some of his sucking issues. In the end, we determined he had acid reflux and was also sensitive to dairy. The physical therapist said typically babies with milk issues grew into sensitive people. She was right. Cameron doesn’t like violence in movies or video games (but can tolerate factual violence when reading about wars—of course it’s not as graphic when it’s in his head instead of on a screen). He cries easily, hugs often, kisses on the lips, and attaches himself to people who show him love.

5. This one is a good one… Cameron is totally accepting of his NLD/SPD/ADHD, and is not afraid to talk about it. He is a great self-advocate and has learned what he needs to help him get through his days. I teach students with hearing loss and am constantly trying to make students understand that if they can talk about their needs and their hearing losses, other people will understand better. Cameron just gets this! Sometimes he gets it to a fault like the time a new kid moved into the neighborhood a few years ago and Cameron showed him is room, then casually mentioned the fact that he still wet the bed. That kid never came over again. So, we’re working on the filter, but proud that he’s so willing to talk about his stuff.

6. I love that, with advance warning, Cameron will almost always roll with whatever our crazy schedules bring our way. He’ll try waterskiing without an issue, he’ll go to new restaurants, visit new places, and stay in new environments. He doesn’t care, as long as we’re there with him. For a kiddo with some pretty rigid thoughts, he’s able to go with the flow better than expected.

7. Cameron’s sophisticated taste in foods is something I adore. He loves blue cheese, jalapenos, goat cheese, hot sauce, black olives, egg rolls, and I’m pretty sure he’d like sushi but I keep offering and he’s not quite there with me yet. That’ll happen soon, though.

8. Thank goodness Cameron has a good sense of humor. If he didn’t, I’m certain that someone would have called Child Protective Services on me by now. I tell him I’m going to “cut” him if he doesn’t stop fighting with his sister sometimes. I recently told him that I should probably not say that, since it’s totally inappropriate. His reply was, “I think it’s funny.” Whew! You may be currently judging me about that, but he doesn’t!

9. When Cameron is away from home, his manners are impeccable. People are constantly telling us how polite he is.

10. Lastly, I love that Cameron is an old man in a 10-year old body. He’d be perfectly happy listening to his favorite music (which includes Tom Petty, the Beatles, Bob Marley, Michael Jackson, Dave Matthews, or Imagine Dragons) or reading a book outside with the dog at his feet. He enjoys identifying birds in the backyard and watching nature shows on TV. Before we know it, he’ll be talking about the weather and how he knows it’s going to rain because his knee is acting up again and how at least he’ll catch the 7:00 news after his 4:00 dinner at Denny’s.

I’m lucky to say that I get to be Cameron’s mom! I can’t wait to see what the next 10 years bring. Happy Birthday, Cameron! xo

SensoryBlogHop

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 08 2014
Full Spectrum Mama

Wonderful list!
I love the way you so deeply and fully celebrate your son. I always know that some of our strongest challenges have flip sides that are gifts , but it’s not always easy to remember to live this idea …
Thank you,

5 08 2014
ktonette

Thank you! It’s so true… I’ve been trying really hard to focus on positives. It seems to be working, for now. I appreciate you reading and sharing your thoughts!

6 08 2014
Mary Turner

And Cameron is lucky to have a wonderful Mom like you Katina!

Leave a Reply

Parham Eftekhari

Tech. Food. Art. Life.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

systemsforsensorykids.wordpress.com/

Solutions for Parents and Families of Sensory Kids

My Out-of-Sync Child

Raising my ADHD, PDD-NOS, Out-of-Sync Daughter

Jill Kuzma's SLP Social & Emotional Skill Sharing Site

Ideas for Educators Supporting Social/Emotional Language Skills

pumpkinblossoms

A happy place for my heart

Sensory Smart Parent Blog

Insights, support, tips, and news for parents of kids with sensory issues

The True Power of Parenting

Emotional Intelligence for a Bright and Successful Future

Motherhood Is An Art

Motherhood takes a lot of creativity and humor!

The Immature Man's Guide:

How to survive in a mature world.

The Runaway Mama

For all the moms with a bag packed just in case.

...said the blind man...

Just another WordPress.com site

Outlaw Mama

My rules. My transgressions. My stories.

The Sensory Spectrum

For SPD Kiddos and Their Parents

Sensory Speak

Just another WordPress.com site

I Made A Human, Now What?

the perils and products of parenting

Voices of Sensory Processing Disorder

Giving a Voice to the Sensory Processing Disorder Community

The Jenny Evolution

Join the Jenny Evolution. Because We Never Stop Evolving As Parents or As People

mommysaidaswearword

writer turned mommy, mommy turned wife.

staydaddy

Being a parent everyday

Sensory Smart News Blog

Where Sensory Smart Parents Go For The Scoop

Musings, Observations & Anecdotes

Listen up. Or sh*t is gonna get real.

notjustaboy

A Mom vs. Alphabet Soup (SPD, NLD, ADHD...)

