His Own Advocate

17 04 2012

In a kind attempt to make Cameron feel better about being brushed, my well-meaning mother-in-law said to him, “That looks so great!  I wish I could be brushed.”  Cameron responded, “You have to have sensory issues to get brushed.”  I was impressed.

Jon and I believe that the only way to help Cameron is to promote his own understanding of what his issues are, why they are what they are, and how to cope with them.  This can work for us and against us at times.  Part of Cameron’s SID is that he is very sensitive to sounds.  When he listens to music, he likes it super loud.  When people chew with their mouths open, especially his sister, he becomes physically agitated (which could be a genetic trait, because I’m the same way).  He also can’t handle her singing with the radio—which may be more of a sibling issue than an SID issue.  I told him that this sensitivity to sounds could be part of his SID, so when he was yelling at Amelia to stop singing and I told him to be patient with her, he replied, “Remember, I can’t help it.  It’s part of me being brushed.  I’m more sensitive to sounds.”  Touché, Cameron.  Touché.

Since he just finished a break from school, I was prepared for a tough transition.  While brushing Cameron last night, we talked about the fact that change is tough for him, and he often loses control.  I tried to give him examples, but he is the forever excuse maker, so he was trying to convince me that he was upset because the Wii actually belongs to him and to whomever bought it, so it’s really his, so he was upset because… that’s where I cut him off.  I’m not sure if non-stop talking, negotiating, and excuse-making is part of SID, but I kind of doubt it.  However, when Cameron in defense-mode those are some of Cameron’s most prominent attributes.

My point in all of this is that unless Cameron knows what sets him off and what makes him feel better, he won’t be able to help himself.  Our goal for him is to be independent, productive, and happy.  He can’t be any of these things if we pretend he’s “fine” and we don’t take advantage of this golden opportunity we have to educate him about himself while he still listens to and looks up to us.  So while it backfires at times, when he tells me that he can’t write neatly because he was just born that way, it works wonders when he asks to be brushed and comes up with his own brushing routine.  Now to wean him off of brushing before his college roommate needs to do it for him…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Parham Eftekhari

Tech. Food. Art. Life.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

systemsforsensorykids.wordpress.com/

Solutions for Parents and Families of Sensory Kids

My Out-of-Sync Child

Raising my ADHD, PDD-NOS, Out-of-Sync Daughter

Jill Kuzma's SLP Social & Emotional Skill Sharing Site

Ideas for Educators Supporting Social/Emotional Language Skills

pumpkinblossoms

A happy place for my heart

Sensory Smart Parent Blog

Insights, support, tips, and news for parents of kids with sensory issues

The True Power of Parenting

Emotional Intelligence for a Bright and Successful Future

Motherhood Is An Art

Motherhood takes a lot of creativity and humor!

The Immature Man's Guide:

How to survive in a mature world.

The Runaway Mama

For all the moms with a bag packed just in case.

...said the blind man...

Just another WordPress.com site

Outlaw Mama

My rules. My transgressions. My stories.

The Sensory Spectrum

For SPD Kiddos and Their Parents

Sensory Speak

Just another WordPress.com site

I Made A Human, Now What?

the perils and products of parenting

Voices of Sensory Processing Disorder

Giving a Voice to the Sensory Processing Disorder Community

The Jenny Evolution

Join the Jenny Evolution. Because We Never Stop Evolving As Parents or As People

mommysaidaswearword

writer turned mommy, mommy turned wife.

staydaddy

Being a parent everyday

Sensory Smart News Blog

Where Sensory Smart Parents Go For The Scoop

Musings, Observations & Anecdotes

Listen up. Or sh*t is gonna get real.

notjustaboy

A Mom vs. Alphabet Soup (SPD, NLD, ADHD...)

