Auld Lang Syne

8 01 2012

Tears of loss.  Screams of sadness.  Flails of anger.  Cries of frustration.  A Badger fan’s reaction to their second Rose Bowl loss in a row?  Nope, it’s just Cameron’s New Year’s Eve.  Let’s reminisce…

After a lazy day of too much TV time, Jon and I were informed that it was New Year’s Eve.  We thought it was December 29, which is what happens when you’re on vacation—you lose track of what day it is.  We were enjoying a relaxing day, planning for our friends to come over the following day, on what we thought was New Year’s Eve.  Our front door opened, and in came my father-in-law.  “Happy New Year,” he said.  “New Year’s isn’t until tomorrow,” was my response.  “No… It’s today,” he replied.  I added the days in my head and realized that it was, indeed, New Year’s Eve, which meant that we had a lot to do to prepare for our friends.

I let Cameron play a game on my phone (adding to his day of too much screen time) while I scurried to prepare.  Then, I watched as his ginormous meltdown began rather slowly.   I had just put his sister, Amelia, on the couch to become more lucid after her nap.  Suddenly, Cameron, playing the phone game with intensity, absentmindedly sat on Amelia.  He was in a zombie-like trance, and plunked his skinny butt directly on his sister, whose face smacked the back of his head.  “OH MY GOSH, Cameron,” was my unplanned response as my mouth hung open in utter disbelief.  Both children were crying, and I tried my best to calm both with two arms (in times like these it would be nice to be an octopus).  He wasn’t hurt, but was crying because I yelled at him.  I tried to tell him that I wasn’t angry, it was pure shock that made speak louder than usual, but I hadn’t yelled.  I decided that the phone game needed to be put away, and so did Cameron.  I calmly asked him to go to his room to relax and read until I was ready to leave for the store.

He came to the store with me and seemed better.  We bought a fun New Year’s dinner for the kids with Cameron making most of the food choices.  Upon return home, the kids ate their special dinner while we waited for two very good friends to arrive.  We were planning to have a Wii bowling tournament with Cameron’s brand new Wii.  Both kids were so excited that we started playing before our friends even arrived.  As the night went on, we realized that even though we’d been playing the Wii for awhile, we were not going to have enough time for a full-blown tournament.  This, in combination with the fact that Cameron was losing some bowling games (losing graciously is not one of Cameron’s strengths), caused Cameron’s wheels to start coming off.  He started to cry.  When I gave him the choice (Love & Logic) to either stop crying and play one more game or keep crying and go to bed, he kept crying.  I had to pick him up to get him to move to his bedroom, which is not something I’m going to be able to do for much longer—he’s a long, noodley 7–year-old!

Apparently, this unleashed an uncontrollable beast.  Tears, screaming, uncontrollable sobbing—the worst I think I may have ever seen, but this time Jon was there to help, so we tag-teamed the situation like WWE wrestlers in front of our extremely non-judgmental friends.  In our attempt to put out this super-blaze, we spent nearly two hours doing what we could to help Cameron; we took turns rolling over him with a yoga ball, hugging him, brushing him, talking to him, etc, but nothing was working.  In retrospect, we were trying to put out a fire that we should have been preventing all along.  During hour two of the fiasco, Cameron came out of his room for what seemed like the hundredth time while we were trying to make dinner for the grown-ups.  “Please, just stop crying and go to bed,” I pleaded. “I can’t control myself” Cameron sobbed. “I can’t control myself either, and I’m about to go postal on you if you don’t get back in your room right now!”  Yep.  I said that.  I turned around to see our friends laughing at me.  “I’m not sorry I said that!” I exclaimed.  There goes that Mother of the Year trophy once again.  One of the things I was thankful for that day was that he has no clue what “going postal” means.

What went wrong? A lot.  It was winter break, and we didn’t do enough to keep his senses in check.  Sometimes we forget to do all of the things that we need to do with a child who has Sensory Integration Dysfunction.  Let’s review our mistakes:

1. Overstimulation: Let’s face it; we’re all over-stimulated during the Christmas season, but most of us have strategies to help us deal with the assault on our senses.  My preferred strategy is wine and avoidance.  We should have provided Cameron with breaks from the chaos for whatever amount of time would’ve worked.  We also should have increased the amount of times we used the sensory brush with Cameron to once every two hours during the break..

2.  Screen Time: When Cameron watches too much TV or plays too many computer or video games, he turns into a sassy, disrespectful monster. To help with this, we limit the TV-watching, and also set timers for 30 minutes when he’s playing video or computer games.  This helps him so that he’s not surprised when it’s time for him to stop.  Over break, since we had just given him his new Wii, we were relaxed on the rules, and allowed him to play for longer than we normally would.  We should have enforced the timer rule!

3. Sugars, Dyes, and Preservatives: I have a confession: I would rather eat Cap’n Crunch and Pop Tarts for breakfast than something healthy.  I am a big fan of empty calories that are provided by sweet and sugary things.  I even love circus peanuts, the nuclear orange squishy non-peanut candy that most people think is disgusting. I am aware that I’m a hypocrite, but we try to limit dyes and preservatives from entering our kids. It was Christmas, though, and there were piles of bad-for-you foods wherever we turned.  Especially red things– red dye, in particular, really does affect Cameron’s focus and behavior–but we didn’t really set limits because it was Christmas, after all!  We should’ve made sure Cameron was full of protein before heading into the Christmas treats war zone, especially for breakfast.  Protein helps kids like Cameron focus.  We also should have made sure he sat and ate even during the intensely exciting pre-present opening.  Due to the fact that I was over-stimulated and couldn’t focus on one thing for too long, I didn’t monitor his food intake like I should have.

4.  Structure/Schedule: Cameron thrives on a schedule, and malfunctions when we throw a wrench in what he’s expecting. While I am not the most organized person, we generally try to keep somewhat of a schedule, but this did not happen over winter break.  We, like so many people, were trying to meet with several different families and friends, do as much as we could, and relax all at the same time.   Our semi-structure didn’t stand a chance.  Even though it was chaotic, each night we should have written a schedule for the next day’s plans so there weren’t any surprises for Cameron.

5. Exhaustion: Our kids go to bed close to the same time and do the same routine almost every night, even on vacation. Unfortunately, we were a bit more flexible than usual over our winter break, allowing Cameron to stay up later to be with family or friends.  This made him progressively more tired so that by New Year’s Eve, he was an exhausted wreck.  We should have stuck to a routine and got that boy some sleep!

The good news? We have learned from our mistakes.  I’ve heard that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.  In some ways, I am insane because I’m pretty sure I did some of that over break.  On the other hand, I will remember this winter break, and don’t plan to have a repeat next year (or during spring break).  I just read on the ever-reliable Wikipedia that “Auld Lang Syne” symbolizes endings and new beginnings.  So here’s to a new year of new beginnings and understandings of my sweet Cameron!

Actions

Information

One response

8 01 2012
Lisa

Katina, you are such an inspiration to me!

Leave a Reply

Parham Eftekhari

Tech. Food. Art. Life.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

systemsforsensorykids.wordpress.com/

Solutions for Parents and Families of Sensory Kids

My Out-of-Sync Child

Raising my ADHD, PDD-NOS, Out-of-Sync Daughter

Jill Kuzma's SLP Social & Emotional Skill Sharing Site

Ideas for Educators Supporting Social/Emotional Language Skills

pumpkinblossoms

A happy place for my heart

Sensory Smart Parent Blog

Insights, support, tips, and news for parents of kids with sensory issues

The True Power of Parenting

Emotional Intelligence for a Bright and Successful Future

Motherhood Is An Art

Motherhood takes a lot of creativity and humor!

The Immature Man's Guide:

How to survive in a mature world.

The Runaway Mama

For all the moms with a bag packed just in case.

...said the blind man...

Just another WordPress.com site

Outlaw Mama

My rules. My transgressions. My stories.

The Sensory Spectrum

For SPD Kiddos and Their Parents

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Sensory Speak

Just another WordPress.com site

I Made A Human, Now What?

the perils and products of parenting

Voices of Sensory Processing Disorder

Giving a Voice to the Sensory Processing Disorder Community

The Jenny Evolution

Join the Jenny Evolution. Because We Never Stop Evolving As Parents or As People

mommysaidaswearword

writer turned mommy, mommy turned wife.

staydaddy

Being a parent everyday

Sensory Smart News Blog

Where Sensory Smart Parents Go For The Scoop

Musings, Observations & Anecdotes

Listen up. Or sh*t is gonna get real.

notjustaboy

A Mom vs. Alphabet Soup (SPD, NLD, ADHD...)

