Insight

4 01 2012

My mother-in-law asked me if “we were writing things we shouldn’t be writing” in the blog (even though I’m the only one writing and “you” may have been a better pronoun).  Clearly, I am an open book, so I do not feel as if I’m sharing any more or less than needs to be shared, but she did make me think about what Cameron will think when he reads this.  How will Cameron be affected by what I write.  So, I decided to tell Cameron about this blog of mine.  

We started at bedtime, his favorite time to talk– probably because he gets to postpone the sleeping part of bedtime for a bit longer.  After a quick explanation of what a blog is, what it means, and who can read it, I told him I write one about him and his sensory issues.  I started to tell him why I write, when he interrupted and said, “It’s so you can help other kids like me, right?”  Wow.  I have one insightful kid!  I said he was right, and continued to let him know that it was to help kids, but  I’m also writing to help parents and families who have kids who struggle like he does, and I’m writing for me because I feel like I’m a better mom when I can express my feelings. 

I told him I wrote about his poop-hiding, and he laughed.  “Funny now, not funny then,” was my response.  

He then said, “Did you write about my handwriting, because my teacher yelled at me about my handwriting today?” 

“That was the last blog I wrote, Cameron!”  There’s that insight again. 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 01 2012
Jenn Schaal

GOD I LOVE THIS KID

4 01 2012
L

Grandma’s truly love their grandkids and just try to protect them. Unfortuntely they do not always come across with the tact and compassion that they should. Cameron is awesome and I am so happy that you can talk to him so openly. He should never feel shame or embarassment because he his sensory issues. I know he will be ok because he has a mom who loves him so much:) I hope your writing is still helping you because I am sure it is helping many others who may feel just as alone and frustrated as you and Jon did. Don’t let the little comments from the grandparents get to you. I Love ya

Leave a Reply

Parham Eftekhari

Tech. Food. Art. Life.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

systemsforsensorykids.wordpress.com/

Solutions for Parents and Families of Sensory Kids

My Out-of-Sync Child

Raising my ADHD, PDD-NOS, Out-of-Sync Daughter

Jill Kuzma's SLP Social & Emotional Skill Sharing Site

Ideas for Educators Supporting Social/Emotional Language Skills

pumpkinblossoms

A happy place for my heart

Sensory Smart Parent Blog

Insights, support, tips, and news for parents of kids with sensory issues

The True Power of Parenting

Emotional Intelligence for a Bright and Successful Future

Motherhood Is An Art

Motherhood takes a lot of creativity and humor!

The Immature Man's Guide:

How to survive in a mature world.

The Runaway Mama

For all the moms with a bag packed just in case.

...said the blind man...

Just another WordPress.com site

Outlaw Mama

My rules. My transgressions. My stories.

The Sensory Spectrum

For SPD Kiddos and Their Parents

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Sensory Speak

Just another WordPress.com site

I Made A Human, Now What?

the perils and products of parenting

Voices of Sensory Processing Disorder

Giving a Voice to the Sensory Processing Disorder Community

The Jenny Evolution

Join the Jenny Evolution. Because We Never Stop Evolving As Parents or As People

mommysaidaswearword

writer turned mommy, mommy turned wife.

staydaddy

Being a parent everyday

Sensory Smart News Blog

Where Sensory Smart Parents Go For The Scoop

Musings, Observations & Anecdotes

Listen up. Or sh*t is gonna get real.

notjustaboy

A Mom vs. Alphabet Soup (SPD, NLD, ADHD...)

